Looking To The Future

 

As you know, our SCVi school site will not reopen until the fall, so here are some updates and a few thoughts from your Scarlet Foundation parents. In this constantly evolving challenge we all face, we’re looking to the future.

Thank You!

First, thank you all so much for your tremendous effort on the STEP It UP campaign and for your donations and support this year for our learners at SCVi! Together we were able to raise $33,020.63 this year! We will share a more thorough financial update at the end of the fiscal year. Because of your hard work, we’ll be ready to support SCVi immediately when we return in the fall. Of course, when things settle, we will be sure to get the Day of Awesomeness back on the schedule for our amazing learners!

Lucky To Be A Part Of The SCVi Community

We’re also thankful for how connected many of our SCVi families have been able to stay, despite not being in actual physical proximity to each other. The capacity that SCVi and iLEAD have shown in quickly coming together almost literally overnight to make this transition as seamless as possible for our kids has been nothing short of amazing. The iLEAD resources, the virtual learning program and guidance, and our dedicated staff and facilitators, have been an incredible asset. Speaking with friends and families outside of the SCVi/iLEAD community, we’ve heard that schools in districts with much greater resources continue to struggle with the transition. Of course, none of this is perfect, but when there’s a global pandemic surging through the population, what we have at SCVi is amazing.

Shade Project

Not much is certain, but it’s clear this pandemic will not be over soon. Meanwhile, we continue to work on the Shade Project permitting, which is finally getting close to approval! And we’re already working with SCVi leadership to identify funding needs the school may have when it reopens.

Final Thought

Finally, we want to express our heartfelt gratitude for being part of this amazing community and knowing that we have each other to help get us through this. Because of your support, we will be ready to help.

Best wishes for continued health and safety,

Kenchy Ragsdale
Nicole Miller
Anita Kornick
Jesse Lee
Maegan Pearson

Amber Caul
Andrea Shields
Brittany Applen
Sage Porter
Brie Childers

 

Happiest of Holidays to our SCVi Community

We know this season can be hectic, with many responsibilities and competing priorities. We see you and want to take this opportunity to thank the entire SCVi community for your tireless work on behalf of all learners.

Our role at SCVi is to manage fundraising and we are committed to consistent, transparent communication, so we are putting together a fundraising update with information on what we’ve raised so far this year and how funds will be allocated which we’ll send out after the new year. In the meantime – and anytime – we are available to answer any questions you may have.

We wish you all the happiest of holidays and look forward to an amazing 2020 at SCVi!

Sincerely,


The Scarlet Foundation Board of Directors

Kenchy Ragsdale – kenchy.ragsdale@scarletparents.org
Nicole Miller – nicole.miller@scarletparents.org
Maegan Pearson – maegan.pearson@scarletparents.org
Jesse Lee – jesse.lee@scarletparents.org
Anita Kornick – anita.kornick@scarletparents.org
Brittany Applen – brittany.applen@scarletparents.org
Conchita Newman – conchita.newman@scarletparents.org
Amber Caul – amber.caul@scarletparents.org
Brie Childers – brie.childers@scarletparents.org
Sage Porter – sage.porter@scarletparents.org
Andrea Nunez – andrea.shields@scarletparents.org

Shade Structure Update

We received an update from our vendor, USA Shade, last week. They shared with us that L.A. County has asked for electronic files for our structure (a common request), which have been submitted.

From there, our plans will need approval from the Fire Department, ADA compliance, and other departments. USA Shade is hopeful that the final approval will be received by the end of January.

Once approvals are in, the materials will be ordered and a date will be set for installation.

Get Email Updates